Monday, 24 June 2019.

Commission announces ward boundary recommendations

8 October, 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England published its electoral review of Dover District Council at the beginning of October.

The aim of the review was to recommend ward boundaries which will mean each district councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. The commission also aimed to ensure the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities, as well as promoting effective local government. For the commission to achieve these aims, ward boundaries had to be reviewed across the Dover District.

The final recommendations are to reduce the number of district councillors to 32 – 13 fewer than now. The Aylesham ward would have three councillors – the only one to do so in the DDC area – and take in the villages of Elvington, Eythorne, Nonington and Shepherdswell.

It’s expected the review will be put before Parliament in the coming few months and, if agreed, would be in place in time for the elections in May 2019.

For more information, please visit